On Giving Up Smoking

Posted: February 25, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

nosmoking
The punctuation of my day has been mislaid somewhere,
I don’t know start from beginning:
End from end,
Flesh from skin,
Or the pause from the utterance.
And I am cast adrift in this.
But I like to breathe the clean air,
And I feel more alive than ever.
The chains are broken, shout Hallelujah!
Thank-you Lord for blessings overflowing,
Happy day and wheeking guinea pigs,
Bursting heart of joy and golden tinkling emotion,
So I am in a better place.
Clear lungs and breath:
No sucking yearning for each individual glowing instant.
No fire required and so
Remaining
At peace.

Leave a Reply

