The Night

Posted: February 25, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

night
I fondle the night while faceless creatures whisper,
I hide from the stars when they twinkle a tune,
I want to get under it over it through it,
I inhale the stardust, the moon-dust, the blundering incoherence of just being;
But I cannot see well and everything’s gone blue.
I wonder: who encases the circuit of longing?
How do the trees remain so green and welcoming?
I ask the moon but it remains silent and glacial.
Where am I going and what am I doing?
I remain ambivalent as I have the night and its exquisite furry children.
I see their glowing eyes and hear them scuttle.
And when the night sucks the colours from my flesh,
Spinning a vortex with fangs of glass,
I let the day flow from my veins to the ends of my withered fingers,
Over the waters of my sorrow I am dragged onward and outward,
Out of being and time,
And Into the cool air and shadowy silence of nowhere.

Leave a Reply

