Bukowski

Posted: April 11, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , ,

bukowski
I can’t drink as much as Bukowski,
No matter how hard I try.
I start well with beers and then it gets weird,
I feel like I’m going to die.

I load up on whiskey and bourbon,
But then act like a lunatic,
I fall over in a spectacular way,
And end up violently sick.

No I can’t drink as much as Bukowski,
Of beer, wine and whiskey,
Or score so many insane women,
I’m just not that very frisky.

When I try to drink as much as Bukowski,
I line up beers and wine,
I fall on my ass with a complete lack of class,
And feel stupid and sillier all of the time.

And so when I try to get drunk as Bukowski,
I say inappropriate things,
I embarrass most everyone who knows me,
Because I am the bullfrog that sings.

I can’t drink mate but I can smoke,
So I might as well get high,
I get stoned as ten Bob Marleys,
I’m just not as cool as that drunken old guy.

Changes by Jeremy Steele

Leave a Reply

