For Dylan Thomas

Posted: June 19, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

dylan
If I were emboldened by the velvet voice of the rutting fawn,
Who leaves the land-locked maidens in his wake,
And breaks the spring-time grasses without care,
I too would be excited by the rub of love,

And run outside to fellow-friend the girls.
So dazzled by their grace and pulchritude,
As wondrous are their bones to my desire,
I fenced the smoke and overcame my fear.

Within the groves that once were my home streets,
I with careless footsteps was restored,
As I spent myself among the wind-swept girls,
And fruitlessly meditated on the shattering of a maiden.

As all of noble nature cries out for sentiment,
And each trifling creature longs to stretch its line.
Each will populate the kindling earth,
To make an ending to perpetual time.

Leave a Reply

