The Fear

Posted: September 12, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

scary
Hold me close for I have the fear:
The fear of saying the wrong thing to the wrong woman,
The fear of being the wrong person in the wrong place,
The fear of walking the streets of the city at night with my eyes on the bitumen,
The fear of caving into conformity and buying into a suburban hallucination.

Hold me close for I have the fear:
The fear of embodying mediocrity in my aimless thoughts and actions,
The fear of razor blades stuck to waterslides with gum,
The fear of dying alone in a one bedroom flat,
The fear of rejection again and again and again.

Hold me close for I have the fear:
The fear of disappearing into my own irrelevance,
The fear that I am a very unattractive man,
The fear of writing a cliché,
The fear that this poem sucks.

Leave a Reply

