Drug Induced Psychosis

Posted: December 1, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

cure
One time in the nineties The Cure were coming to town
The Cure were so cool, probably best in the eighties but still a potent force for black trousers and dancing in the dark to dispel fears of normality
My mates and I decided to line up five days before tickets went on sale at the Entertainment Centre
There were amazing people there in the line, all dressed in black, icicle cool and groovy
Boys and girls with black eyeliner celebrating all that is dark
I played Cure and Nick Cave songs on my guitar and flirted with the gorgeous gothic women
I almost fell in love with one of them as she held my head in her lap
And every day there were people going up and down the line selling acid and pot
I dropped strawberry acid trips five days in a row and didn’t have one bad trip
Timothy Leary would be proud- set and setting were perfectly divine
Time was totally distorted, I blinked my eyes and hours passed, but a minute could be an extended eternity
In every precious moment sunlight was transforming the world into diamond speckled water-colour abstractions and tessellating patterns of colour were everywhere
I could see little pixie people, dressed in black running all over the place and the Akashic records of my every thought and impulse scrolling out before me
Then I could see a thousand time-lines of a thousand intertwined souls reverberating to the music of the spheres
A glimpse of eternity in every moment and at night the stars were mutating into oscillating fractals of mutant energy and light
I saw thousand foot high monsters with hundreds and hundreds of eyes but I wasn’t scared
The power cables that set the universe in motion became visible and formed intricate patterns in the air
But when I went home, and had the tickets I was overcome by a peculiar sensation
I suddenly thought I was Birthday Party era Nick Cave and covered my stack-hat with poignant desperate poetry
Then I put it on, refused take it off and started sprouting profound gibberish of black nights dancing to Sisters of Mercy, desperate death lurking at every corner and mad conspiracies of angelic gothic women whispering my name to bring down Moloch
I wasn’t making much sense so my parents took me to the hospital
They gave me some pills and I fell asleep, still wailing the military industrial complex and the police conspiracy to destroy fun in my twisted brain
When I woke up in the morning they said I had had a drug induced psychosis
I didn’t learn any lessons and when the time for the concert came I dropped acid again
It was tremendous I could see sound and hear the colours howling secret melodies of the night
But I did forget who the guy singing with the funny mop of hair was for a while

Comments
  1. Nathan Hobby says:

    You remember it so well. Did you get to the concert?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yes, got to the concert- dropped acid for it and forgot who Robert Smith was..very spectacular…it was a wild time

    Like

Leave a Reply

