Suburbia

Posted: December 12, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

suburbia
Down the identikit suburban streets, looking in the gardens for thistles for my piggies
Bitumen road sliding out into the horizon
How many families in interchangeable brick boxes
Putting food on the table
Paying the bills
Uttering clichés to try to fill the time
Human tape-recorders spewing mundanities
Hypnotised and cauterized by mobile phones and television
Conforming, conforming, conforming
Caring for sticky faced children
Outcome of man and woman enveloping each other for a sweaty moment
Consuming, procreating and dying more every second
Just like the people in the next house
And the house after that
And I should really love all these people
Like Jesus
But it’s not easy

I walk alone
Smoking white ox
Stoned but not stoned enough
Eyeing women who pass me by
With shameful furtive glances
Ocular photographs shuffled off to the wank bank
Never look for long
That’s the secret
Am I sexist?
Am I a sex criminal?
Am I the patriarchy?
I ache for a good woman like a junkie for a shot

This is what Burroughs called the old talking asshole routine
I am the talking asshole

Leave a Reply

