Heroes

Posted: December 27, 2014 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

kerouac1
I have had better relationships with substances than people
It’s not that I didn’t want the relationships with people,
They were just few and isolated like fly spots in a clean house
While pot and alcohol were always there, as long as I had money
‘The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom’ says Blake
It’s all about the loosening of semantic associations
Getting lost in a web of words and forbidden texts,
Zapping from word to word on wings of fancy
With Rimbaud and Dylan Thomas on my shoulders
The vomit of self-disclosure can taste sweet
When blended through the madness of my mind
‘When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.’ says Hunter S Thompson
But when I look at my panoply of drunk, drug addled and crazy heroes
Bukowski, Burroughs, Kerouac, Thomas, Rimbaud, Cave, Plath
I dream of getting wasted with them and swapping poet tricks
Shooting smack with William Burroughs and Nick Cave
Sharing a pint with Dylan Thomas and Charles Bukowski
Trying to cheer up Sylvia Plath
One thing I know for sure
I don’t want to die puking up blood like Kerouac
I wonder if creation really has to take such a toll on the constitution
Self-destruction for art’s sake is a myth, a trope, an illusion, maya
But it’s fun

Leave a Reply

