Bury me deep

Posted: March 26, 2015 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

grave
Bury me deep where worms are feeding
Streetlights burn pale green
Bury me where virgins are bleeding
At my funeral play Ween

Bury me deep where the worms are feeding
Where the soil is moist and cold
Forgive my ghost and my memory’s ghosts
At least I was never old

Bury me deep where the worms are feeding
Maggots are my friends
Let me desiccate and rot to bones
Now pain is at an end

Bury me deep where the worms are feeding
Jesus is now my friend
Let me fester the ground till hell rains down
And the earth begins to bend.

Comments
  1. Had to wikipedia Ween, lurl. I want to be cremated and, as per my song Kairos time, “Sun, surf, sand and sea-breeze/ If I gotta die then spread my ashes here please/ And what remains of me / Can join the dance of the sand and sea

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heard this track and thought of you and your poem. If you’re gonna be a corpse, why not rot with someone else? Much more companionable 🙂 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UtG50VnixoA

    Liked by 1 person

  3. love the song…appeals to my black sense of humour..would be much better to rot with a companion

    Like

  4. hey Karen—check out Ween–they used to be the coolest band in the universe

    Like

Leave a Reply

