Pre-rejection jitter-bug blues

Posted: April 3, 2015 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Angel
Because you’re gorgeous
And I’m old and fat
Because you’re a wonderful woman
And I’m a corrupt middle-aged man
Because you’re an indelible arrow in my heart
And I’m a drug-ravaged cliché
Because you know all the cool new bands
And I’m stuck in the nineties
Because you’re nubile and radiant
And I’m corpulent and a bit of downer
Because you’re a heavenly angel
And I’m a horrible toad
And I’m not sure if I’ll turn into a prince
Even if you kiss me
Because you’re rapidly transmogrifying into a goddess in my mind
Sacred projection of my anima
So high above and so lovely
But this is not healthy
You want a man, not a worshipper
So I postpone and procrastinate
About telling you
How much you mean to me
And just try to be friends
But not in a passive-aggressive ‘Nice-Guy’ way
Because I know the answer to the song of my heart
Will be no

Comments
  1. Karen Maddigan says:

    I’m reading this with one eye open, on my iPhone, drowsy and post nap. And it’s still cool, lurl! Your poetry? I just get it. It’s so clear and blessedly brief compared to my bramble rambles. James would approve!

    Like

Leave a Reply

