Oxycontin

Posted: December 8, 2015 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Oxycontin 2 SH jpg_

These green 80 milligram OxyContin tablets sell for $80 each on the street. The pink 20 milligram tablets fetch $20 each. This pain reliever is becoming the recreational drug of choice in Maine, authorities say. (NEWS Photo by Scott Haskell)

‘You have to keep chewing them’ my mate says
‘They’ve changed the formulation to stop people shooting them up’,
Feels like chewing rubber but it eventually breaks up
About ten minutes later I begin to feel a warm, numbing sensation in my legs
Gradual warming of my moribund bones, warming my brain like an internal balaclava
Ah Opiates- poppy-powered self-indulgent cocooning into comfort
Adrift in psychedelic notes of Hendrix with my heavy eyelids leading me through various semiconscious states
A whole spectrum of dopey dreams to get lost in
My whole body is perfectly numb and at peace
In my mind I soar over poppy fields through a purple sky on a scented breeze
Then it feels like my brain is curling up into a ball, secure against the world- a perfect state of addled apathy
Total body bliss
And the feeling keeps going for hours
Perfectly wasted
Hill-billy heroin indeed

Leave a Reply

