Kalevalaic connections

Posted: January 4, 2017 in Uncategorized

great post about translating a great piece of finnish literature…translating poems is hard…I’ve tried to translate psalms from greek and totally stuffed it up

sanna peden

…aka “What bridges Finnish shamanism and contemporary Australian poetry?”

The first lecture I ever gave was on the Finnish national epic Kalevala. I was fresh out of Honours and I was part-excited at the opportunity, part-appalled that someone as unimpressive as yours truly could be allowed to lecture at university (mercifully I ground those doubts into a fine dust in good time). Wanting to get everything right, I spent the entire previous day… making traditional pastries for the students. Because of course. (I should probably mention that I didn’t yet know how to use PowerPoint properly, so it’s not as if I couldn’t have spent my energies on that, for example.*) Every now and then I have the opportunity to teach the Kalevala again, and my next excursion to the land of heroes is in about a week.

The Kalevala is great fun, not least because of its wonderful alliteration and…

View original post 588 more words

Leave a Reply

